Crickets and the full moon in the garden

I belong to a community garden and I’ll sometimes go there past dark to water my plot and enjoy nature. Some of the stuff growing there is just beautiful. The flowers especially give a feeling of wildness and whimsy. This week, the cicadas and crickets were in full force while the full moon rose above the fields in the distance. I brought my tripod – which I’d just bought and felt excited about! – to get some shots. It was pretty cool to have the sun setting on the one side, the moon rising on the other.

http://chirb.it/LBgA0F

Hopefully that audio is showing up properly on the page. I had to learn how to convert video to audio, since my camera doesn’t have audio only. Then I had to upload the file to a website, in order to embed it here on my blog. So much work!! It’s not showing up the way it should on my screen, because of the browser I have, but hopefully it is working for everyone else. I want you all to hear the crickets chirping while you look at the photos. This is the best I could do for now. Anyway, on to the photos!

001

007

015

019edited

021edited

025edited

030

039

043

047

As you can see with these last ones, I couldn’t resist some photo editing. Picasa has this cool effect called Lomo-ish, which intensifies the colours. It reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.

039edited

025edited2

By the time I left the garden, I felt totally relaxed. These are the moments of summer to remember.

Katrina.

Leave a Reply

