Make your own RPG Game: My first project!

In my last post I set several goals for myself such as painting something by the end of August and finishing up my photo albums.

So I decided to make a video game instead!!

I’ve been wanting to make a video game since 2004 when I discovered Ahriman’s Prophesy. I had just moved to Ottawa to attend university and I needed to distract myself during winter exams. I googled “free RPGs,” found this cute game, and have been a fan of game designer Amanda Fae ever since. I admire that she is self-taught and that she created a platform for her work,  Amaranthia.com. Through her website she sells her RPG games, promotes the games of other indie game designers, and maintains a help forum for fans. While her first couple of games were free, she now sells her newer games on her website and also through larger online gaming sites such as Wildtangent.

Anyway. I don’t intend to make a living out of making games but it looks like it would be fun to make at least one. After years of procrastinating, I finally downloaded a free trial version of RPG Maker VX Ace. It’s about time that I try making my own game.

I’ve spent about a day and a half on it so far. I can’t figure out how to make a youtube video of my game, so here are some screenshots.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13854 PM

Start screen! I haven’t developed a plot yet. I’m still learning how to put together maps and houses and link them together.

Here’s what it looks like when I’m creating the world map.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 20750 PM

You have to choose your tiles and arrange them how you like. Here’s how it looks when playing.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13902 PM

In order for things to happen, we need to create “events.” This enables the player to move from one location to the next, to speak to characters in the game, aquire items, and so on. Let’s say we want to go to that small town at the bottom of the screen. We will create an “event” that will transport the player to to the town when he steps on it.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 21333 PM

I won’t go into all the details, but that’s what my screen looks like when I’m creating an event. Now, when we step on the small town on the big map, we’ll go there. Here’s what it looks like.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13912 PM

I kept the first town very small. The girl in the garden lives with her grandmother. The boy next door likes her. My plan is to make a side quest out of it, maybe make our hero go find daffodils to give to the young man to give to the girl so she’ll like him, and as a reward they will give us an item.

At the moment, the young man is living in squalor.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13919 PM

My original intention was to make the bedroom of a messy teenager inside an otherwise well-kept house. I lost patience though and ended up just leaving it this way. I kinda like it.

I then created a series of events that ONLY occur if you walk over to the dirty dishes and comment on them. As soon as that happens, the young man walks through the front door, overhears you, and says something to you.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13923 PM

 

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13929 PM

 

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13933 PM

It took me a long time to make this scene. It’s hard to show it without video. I had to make sure the event didn’t loop around and around. After I stopped it from looping, he disappeared from the screen, so I had to figure out how to make him stay inside the house.

I also thought it would be funny to let the player choose a response.

THEN, I created a special condition. There are five dollars in the dresser. If you don’t take it, the young man won’t say anything about it. However, if you DO take it, and you speak to him afterwards, he WILL say something.  I had to do many, many test runs in order to get this right, so I’m proud of how it turned out.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 14241 PM

 

Fullscreen capture 01092014 13949 PM

Hahaha.

Okay so I created another town. It’s not completed yet but I’ll show you what I’ve got so far. The layout is based on one of the sample maps included in the software package.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 14023 PM

Right now you can go left a few times and then up. The rest of the town is under development, including the interior of the buildings.

Fullscreen capture 01092014 14041 PM

 

Fullscreen capture 01092014 14049 PM

Anyway, that’s it for now.

There was a learning curve to get over, but I have a basic grasp of linking together parts of the map, creating dialogue, and adding music.  Hopefully next time I’ll be able to post a youtube video.

Thanks for reading!

K.

2 thoughts on “Make your own RPG Game: My first project!

Leave a Reply

