RPG Game: Importing tilesets

So as part of my quest to make my own video game, I’ve been teaching myself how to use the RPG Maker: VX Ace software. In my last post, I was using the Lite version, which is free. Since then, the website had a 75% off sale and I was able to buy the full version for just under $20. Woo!

The first thing I did was seek out new tilesets. It took me at least an hour (okay more than that) to figure it out, but I seem to have the idea now.

All you do is find some graphics or tilesets that you like. There are many available for free. Copy it as an image. Go into VX Ace and click on “Resource Manager.” Import the graphics that you’ve saved on your computer. Make sure to import them into the proper file, for example sprites go into the Graphics/Characters folder.

Then, you go into Database and edit everything in there. I won’t go into detail because there are tons of youtube tutorial videos already. That said, feel free to ask questions here anyway and I’ll do the best I can to help.

Okay so I added laboratory graphics and made a little lab.

 vgame3

 I wanted to make it innocent and normal looking. Just a bunch of regular joes doing research for the good of their community. Look, they even have a locker room!

Most of the graphics came with the VX Ace. The new ones I’m using are available from the RPG Maker VX Resource Planet Blog.

As you can see, I got some sprites dressed in lab coats. I got them from here. I don’t know why, but they have a green box surrounding them which makes them look weird when they walk around. I don’t know what to do to fix that.

vgame2

 

vgame

And in case you are wondering, yes my main character is a mermaid. She has the same stupid green box around her. I tried importing some underwater tiles, which I’m still messing around with, so no photos of that today. At some point I would like to create underwater scenes. I think it would be fun to play as a mermaid or merman character.

Okay so my main idea in creating a lab was to have a perfectly normal looking setting that is actually sinister. I could put this in a game and create a series of events where at some point, you gain access to different floors and rooms of the building and come across some secret basement that is housing experiments. Experiments that cause people to either die or go crazy.

vgame4

I might need to import more graphics to give this the proper look to it. It doesn’t seem quite right. Oh, and obviously you won’t be a mermaid. I only left her in these photos because of how long it took me to track down mermaid sprites. I wanted to show off my find.

Anyway, that’s all for today. Thanks for looking!

 

Leave a comment