New graphics for the RPG game!

Hi all,

So I bought some new graphics  for RPG Maker VX Ace and I’m really happy with them so far.

Up until this week, I had been using the basic graphics included in the system. I figured it made more sense to learn the software before buying anything extra for it. After all, I do have a bad habit of starting new hobbies then quitting halfway through. However, I’ve been dutifully plugging away with this project. The storyline itself hasn’t come that far, but I have a much better idea of what I am doing.

So without much ado, here is a screenshot of a sample map made with the basic graphics VS the same map recreated with Pixel Myth Germania tiles.

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10832 PM

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10842 PM

Big difference, right? The main issue I have come across so far is the inability to create three levels of grassland that are properly separated from each other. As you can see in the original layout, there is a lower level, stairs leading up to a higher level, and the highest level after that. It creates the appearance of hills and height.

For some reason, I can’t mimic that with the pixel myth tiles. Maybe there is a trick to it that I don’t know about, or maybe they weren’t designed to be used in this way. I’m not sure. For the moment, I can ONLY create three separate levels of height by using  a “dirt ground” tile (the middle level). However, I can still make two height levels with grass tiles.

The dirt ground tile has some limitations to it. The natural looking steps work fine when the player walks from a grassy level onto the dirt level, or from a grass level to another grass level. For some reason, when the steps tile is placed on a dirt tile, the player cannot pass through it. Ladders, however, do work. I don’t know if the graphics artist made the tiles work this way intentionally or if this is a bug. Anyway, it’s not a big deal. Now I know what works and what doesn’t.

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10851 PM

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10943 PM

I think the building tiles are beautiful. They can be combined in so many different ways. There is even more versatility for those who know how to do parallax mapping. At the moment, I don’t have the skill level or the time to learn that. In the future I would like to learn how to do that. So far as I understand, it is a mapping technique using an editor that allows you to alter tiles.

These are the buildings I’m making for now. They look nice even without extra editing.

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10817 PMThe following screenshot is a map that I copied from this map posted on the rpgmaker website.

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 10952 PM

Mine is not exactly the same because I did not use editing software to adjust the lighting. I’m still not used to creating my own maps, aside from house interiors, so for the moment I am mimicking other maps. In time, I’ll be comfortable enough with the graphics to design my own maps.

I’m having fun designing building interiors. None of these are directly copied from anything else.

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 11000 PM

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 24351 PM

1-Fullscreen capture 04032015 24250 PM

I’m loving the bathtub graphic, the option to put furniture sideways or backwards against the walls, the wallpaper, indoor windows and couches, In other words, pretty much everything.

One feature that’s especially helpful is the tile that combines the wall and a window. Normally, I would have to add the wall first and put a separate window on top of it. With these graphics, I can add both wall and window using a single tile. I find this helpful because it solves overlap issues. Normally, if I were to put a bed near a wall with a window, the bed and window would overlap each other. Using this graphic, I do not have that problem anymore.

It still takes me a long time to put together the rooms in a house, but I feel confident in my abilities. I’m pleased with the maps I have made so far.

For now, I will take my attention away from the graphics and watch more youtube videos. I need to practice making cut scenes and creating different events for the actual gameplay.

Do you have a favourite tileset?  Do you have any suggestions for combining two or more types of  tilesets together?

Leave a Reply

