A Witch Ball and a Dress for Fall

I took myself on an Artist’s Date this week. If you’ve read Julia Cameron book “The Artist’s Way,” then you already know that an Artist Date is something we do for our inner artist, aka our inner child. It means going out alone and doing something the inner child wants to do, even if it seems impractical. So I went shopping for a few things that I think are too frivolous to bother shopping for.

The first thing on my list was a witch ball. I’ve been wanting one for years! It wasn’t easy to find one, though. I went to the store in the market that used to sell them, but they stopped carrying them. I checked out a few New Age style stores without success. Just when I was about to give up, I happened to pass by a local art store called Stonewall: Art for Everday Living. It has a large selection of witch balls in four different sizes. Yes!

It didn’t take me long to find one that I like.

1-019 1-025

It’s perfect for my office, as a lot of sunlight shines through the window.

Ironically, witch balls were used in the 17th and 18th century to ward off witches and evil spirits, and I lean towards Wicca teachings. It just goes to show that the witch stereotype has never really gone away! Fortunately, it’s possible to assign our own meanings to objects. I think the witch ball is for anyone wanting to attract beauty and positive energy into their life.

After leaving the art store, I went clothes shopping and found the perfect dress for fall.

I never know how to pose for photos, hence the cheesy thumbs up.

1-036

My inner artist wants patterns and bright colours, so I’m trying to add more of those to my wardrobe. Most of my clothes are black, grey, white, and blue. I like that this dress has a splash of orange and green, yet isn’t so bright that it screams “look at me!” I’m going to wear it with my brown pleather jacket.

Do you ever go out on Artist Dates? How do you get in touch with your inner artist?

Leave a Reply

