The last of the container wax candles

As I may have mentioned before, I’ve been trying to use up this candle wax that had been sitting in my closet for so many years.All of the solid container wax is gone; all that’s left now is a bit of gel wax.  I didn’t do anything special with these candles, just tried out a few different types of containers and did the job quickly to get it over with.

016

Containers used: a dollar store jar with a screw on lid (red candle), an old salsa jar cleaned out (pink candle), a wide-mouthed glass that I think is meant as a drinking glass, a small pot thing that I’m pretty sure would have just cracked inside the oven had I used it for its intended purpose, and a small glass votive candle holder that I converted into a candle.

The pink candle is a failed attempt at making a tie-dye candle. I glanced at the directions and didn’t really follow them, making a half-assed effort. I remember feeling particularly impatient that day. The result was a white candle with random red streaks in it, which melted into a solid pink colour. Oh well.

The green candle, if you look closely, has layers of different shades of green. It didn’t turn out anything like I expected. I wanted it to start dark then gradually fade to a light green at the top. I didn’t know how to lighten it, so I added bits of yellow dye to the batch of melted wax. Maybe it’s possible to buy a white dye that will lighten or pastel-ify colours? I didn’t have the patience to look it up, so I winged it. The resulting top layer looks like pea soup, which I’m not too happy about, but that’s okay.

012

All I have left to do now is use up the last of the gel wax. I already know what I want to do with it. I’ll be getting sand and creating an underwater scene.

I’m not sure if I’ll buy candle wax again. There are too many other half-finished projects in the closet that I need to complete before I jump into any new serious hobby. I’ve seen recipe for candles that use dried herbs such as lavender, which would be cool to try. Maybe next year I could get into that.

That’s it for today. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “The last of the container wax candles

Leave a comment